2013 Retrospective and 2014 Goals

Brief highlights of the year

January: Ben and I celebrated our one year anniversary at Per Se with a dessert tasting menu. We went to Miami for a weekend to escape the cold weather in NY. I have a foot injury.

February: I’m still recovering from my foot injury.

March: We went to Philadelphia. The Mutter Museum is awesome.

April: I set a new spring HM (1:53:50).

May: My nephew is born! My sister graduates from pharmacy school! Dave English cancels the New Jersey Liberty Run Marathon and I write my most popular post ever! Moved from my beloved Astoria to Hoboken to live with Ben.

June: I come really close to running a sub-24 5K (24:09).

July: I travel to Iceland and Russia (with my mom and Ben at different stages). The scenery is breathtaking in Iceland. If you love history and art, then St. Petersburg is the place to be.

August: I was a surprise guest at a dear friend’s wedding. She had no idea that I was coming. I schemed with a friend and we pulled off a great surprise.

September: I had my first giveaway. I cycled my farthest distance (57 miles) at the Century Ride.

October: I ran a fall HM PR at Wineglass (1:49:51). I turned 36 years old. Ben and I dined at Jean Georges.

November: We do the Asics Ryan Hall Challenge. We nearly froze to death at the Channukah Chalf Marathon.

December: We have the race of our lives at the Westfield 5-Mile Turkey Trot. Saw No Man’s Land with Sir Patrick Stewart and Sir Ian McKellen. We tried to Escape the Room, NYC with our friends. Ben turned 32 years old. Finally broke the sub-24 min 5K barrier. We finished our year relaxing in Westchester.

All in all, 2013 was pretty good to me. Unlike some of the more recent past years where I was a bit eager to turn the page and get a fresh start, I saw 2013 go with a bit of sadness. I’m at a general state of contentment and peace that I haven’t had in a long while. While I’m not one for resting on one’s laurels, after several years of heavy dissatisfaction, I’m enjoying a bit of rest in my life by just simply being. The importance of enjoying my life and appreciating and loving my family and friends came to the forefront last week when I received the sad news of my friend’s husband unexpected death. He was young and seemingly healthy. He leaves behind a wife and two young boys, a host of people who loved him, including us his friends. I can’t believe I won’t ever see him again. In my mind’s eye, I can still see his face and hear his voice. I wondered, “What would he have done differently he had known that this would be his last year of life?” I know that he would not have wanted to go without reassuring my friend and their children just how much they were loved by him. And so, in his honor I’ll try to be kinder and more appreciative of my loved ones in 2014 and onward.

Last year I wrote down some fitness goals.

  1. Run a sub-1:50 half marathon in the spring.
    Nope, I ran a sub 1:50 in the fall. I had some very ambitious goals. Still, I got a sub 1:50, so I’ll count this as being achieved.
  2. Run a sub-1:45 half marathon in the fall.
    Nope!
  3. Run a sub-24 min 5K sometime this year.
    Ran a 23:32 at the Jingle Bell Jog in December. Took me all year, but I did it.
  4. Run a mile in 7 mins or less.
    Yes, I ran a 7 min mile on a track and I can run a mile on a treadmill at 9.2 mph (6:30 pace, equivalent to about 6:45 outdoors).
  5. Hold bridge pose in yoga for 5 breath cycles.
  6. Do the splits on one side
  7. Do one push-up
  8. Do one pull-up
  9. Get the Athena badge on Fitocracy (deadlift 135 lb for 3 reps, barbell squat 115 lbs for 3 reps, and  bench press 85 lbs for 3 reps). I just need to work on my bench press.
    Nada for 5-9. I stopped doing yoga when I moved to Hoboken. Unfortunately I fell off the wagon in terms of weightlifting the last few months, so I need to get back into the gym. I forgot about goals 7 & 8 after a couple of months.
  10. Get down to 20% body fat (approximately 128 lbs).
    Yes. This goal was less about body vanity and more about doing everything I can to become a better athlete. I wanted to become faster. Last year I was about 133 lbs and some of that weight was needless fat. It wasn’t about the number on the scale itself. If I weighed 133 AND was rather lean, I wouldn’t have cared that I was 133. But I knew that some of that weight was fat, which was not helping me be a better athlete. I slowly lost weight, but that wasn’t the focus. I wanted to become faster and losing weight was a by-product of eating smaller portions and exercising more vigorously. 

I’m pleased with what I’ve gone in 2013. I ran 17 races, PR’ed in several of them, and led an interesting life. I know some people feel a bit depressed if they don’t complete all of their goals, but I never do. I believe in getting done with what you can get done, plus I’ve accomplished other things that I hadn’t written down in Jan 2013.

My goals for 2014

  1. Run a sub-23 5K in the spring.
  2. Run a sub 22:30 5K by the end of the year.
  3. Run a sub 1:45 half marathon
  4. Run a sub 50 min 10K
  5. Do one push-up
  6. Do one pull-up
  7. Get the Athena badge on Fitocracy (deadlift 135 lb for 3 reps, barbell squat 115 lbs for 3 reps, and  bench press 85 lbs for 3 reps). I just need to work on my bench press.
  8. Get back into aerial silks. Take a class every other week.

2014, I’m ready for you.

10 thoughts on “2013 Retrospective and 2014 Goals

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. But on the running front you had a great year. I have no doubt you’ll continue kicking butt and taking names throughout 2014!

Leave a Reply

