Running on Old Croton Aqueduct Trail

 

20170711_170059

Old Croton Aqueduct Trail

Ben and I did a quick little getaway this past weekend to Westchester County. He’s been very busy with work lately, so it was nice to spend a time together away from home.

 

Sunday morning was set aside for the Church of the Long Run. Careful examination of Google Maps revealed that an entrance point to Old Croton Aqueduct Trail was a mere three miles away from our hotel in Tarrytown.

The history of OCA is quite interesting. It used to be a functioning aqueduct that brought fresh water to New York City. In 1968 New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation bought 26.2 miles of the original 41 mile aqueduct to preserve as a linear park.

Ben and I got to run 6.5 miles of it. We did an out-and-back for a total of 13 miles on a beautiful sunny Sunday. We both LOVE this picturesque trail. It’s beautiful and in good condition. Every once in a while you get a view of the Hudson River. At least for the section we ran, the trail was shady, which made for cool running. The trail is flat and non-technical with very very gentle inclines and declines, just enough variation to make the trail interesting, but nothing that requires you to work during the incline.

Despite the fact that the trail is non-technical, of course, I almost fell flat on my face. I am so clumsy. I trip over a curb at one of the sections where the trail meets a street. I was going to fall flat on my face, but somehow, I don’t know how, I managed to catch myself and prevent a fall. I did tweak a muscle in my side while I caught myself, but that’s a small price to pay for not falling on my face.

We had a fantastic long run on Old Croton Aqueduct in Westchester County. There are so many great trails in this area. If you’re interested in running this trail, but not wanting to go so far north, you can actually run the southernmost end of the OCA in the Bronx at Van Cortlandt Park.

4 thoughts on “Running on Old Croton Aqueduct Trail

  1. I love this run. I also LOVE Lefteris in Tarrytown. Great Greek food! Sometimes when we need a quick getaway we book a room there and do a few runs. One time we were running on this path and it pops out at the school parking lot at one point and when we got to the parking lot the school mascot (a headless horseman) was right there. Pretty funny. Also Kyuit is pretty awesome!

    • Ha! To see the headless horseman when you’re not expecting it can be creepy. I love Kyuit. Such a wonderful place.

      I did a little more research on this trail and now I’m dying to explore the more northern sections.

Leave a Reply

