Rutgers Unite Half Marathon Race Report

flying down finish lineName of the raceRutgers Unite Half Marathon

Where: New Brunswick, NJ

Date: April 9, 2017

Time: 8:00 am

Distance: 13.1 miles

Terrain: Rolling hills

Entry fee: $75-99 (depending upon when you register; I received a free entry as a prize for the number of race participants who used my race ambassador code)

Swag: Free race photos, mug, and t shirt

Post-race Food: Pretzel, a package of sliced apples, a bag of chips, a package of two chocolate peanut butter sweets (not sure what they were exactly), water, Coke, and Nestle chocolate milk

Time: 2:00:39

Performance: [info will be put in later when it’s up on Athlinks]

Weather: 34 degrees, 80% humidity (I have a hard time believing in the temp, Weather history says the temperature was 45 degrees at 8 am, and I’m more inclined to believe this).

I ran the race that I deserved to run. That’s all I can say about this race. I came home upset and angry at myself. Ben tried to cheer me up, but I wasn’t about to let him not let me have my sulking pity party.

But in a way, I’m glad this happened to me. It means that I care about running. I care about my race results. It means I’m ready to train hard again. If I didn’t care or if I wasn’t ready, my response would have been, “Well, we all have bad races. Just chalk it up and let it go.” But that wasn’t my response. I was furious with myself.

For once I have a spring where I’m not hampered by plantar fasciitis, or sick with bronchitis, or overwhelmed by work and life responsibilities. I don’t have an excuse for why I’m not at my best. Instead of running a great race, I ran over 2 hours for a half where last year, UNABLE TO BREATHE I ran over six minutes faster. Four months and this is what I got to show for it.

So yeah, I’m furious.

Look out, 2017, I’m gunning for you.

6 thoughts on “Rutgers Unite Half Marathon Race Report

  1. Absolutely frustrating when this happens. But in some ways, it is a great moment to step back, get angry and then have a great revenge race in a few weeks. Sorry to hear that it didn’t work out as you had hoped. But I have a feeling this is going to lead to a killer Run For The Red.

    • Thanks! I PRed the following week at a 5K, so I’ve made some improvement in my running. I think I’m at a point where I need to do more race-specific training and the gains I get from just getting fitter are over. Two years ago if I got faster at a 5K, I also automatically got faster at the half without any specific half training. Doesn’t seem to work that anymore.

Leave a Reply

