Gobble, Gobble to 3rd Place AG at the Massapequa Park Turkey Trot

Name of the race: Massapequa Park Turkey Trot

Where: Massapequa Preserve, Massapequa Park, NY

Date: November 19, 2016

Time: 9:00 am

Distance: 3.11 miles

Terrain: Flat, road for the first half, and walking paths of Massapequa Preserve for the second half

Entry fee: pre-race $25; $30 day of

Swag: Cotton t-shirt

Post-race Food: Hot chocolate, bagels with cream cheese, orange wedges, bananas, apples, granola bars, and water

Time: 23:50

Performance: Overall 54/505; Gender: 10/316; Age (35-39): 3/37

Weather: 54 degrees, 77% humidity

I’m like a million race reports behind right now. I actually have a race that I did before this one, but I figure I should do all of my Turkey Trots now, while it’s still reasonable to think about Thanksgiving.

I wanted one last 5K before 2016 ended, something fast and flat. I did a little searching and I picked this race because it was flat and based on prior race results, it looked like I had a good chance of getting an AG award. You know how I am about bottom feeding. I also wore a pair of turkey socks that said, “Run Now, Gobble Later” on the back. Ever since I ran the Run for CHIPS 5K, I’ve now become obsessed with themed running.

Thanks to the 9 am start, we didn’t have to wake up super early on Saturday. We had some coffee, got dressed, and went off to Long Island. I walked into an office to go register and the room seemed familiar. A feeling of deja vu came over me, but I shrugged it off. I got my bib and walked over to the start line with Ben and Bandit.

Bandit was quite excited because she loves races. She’s a little yippng and yowling monster before the race starts because she’s insistent that we start running right then. Patience is not her virtue.

My goal for this race was a sub-24:00. Ben offered to pace me so I didn’t start off too fast. Bandit, however, didn’t get this message or didn’t care because she pulled him to a fast mile. I knew they were going too fast, so I purposefully lagged behind (7:25). At the end of the first mile, Ben dragged  Bandit back to where I was and we ran the rest of the way together.

I really like this course. The first half is straight out on streets of Massapequa Park. Then just before a mile and a half, you make a left turn and shortly then another quick left to go run back, but through Massapequa Preserve. The park is lovely and I enjoyed running through it. The second mile split was 7:35.

wp-1480288029649.jpgThe last mile was tough. I really really wanted to slow down and I did, but not as much as I wanted to. I held on to the best of my ability. I figured I could hold on for a 7:50 pace, so I gamely kept it up and clocked the last mile at 7:49. Then I saw the finish line, so I gritted my teeth and sprinted toward it (7:24). I finished the race in 23:50, which is my 3rd best 5K time and good enough for a 3rd place AG.

While out on the course, I experienced another moment of deja vu. In the last mile, we actually cross a street that divides Massapequa Preserve in two. While we ran across the street, I knew that I had ran across that street before. Then while waiting for the awards ceremony, I knew I had been there before in that same exact area. Either that or I was losing my mind. When I got back home, I looked through race history and eureka! I discovered that yes, indeed, I had ran that exact same course four years ago for the Sleepy Hollow 5K, where I also got an AG award. So it appears as if this course is good luck for me.

7 thoughts on “Gobble, Gobble to 3rd Place AG at the Massapequa Park Turkey Trot

    • They are adorable, aren’t they? I just wish that the turkey face on the front didn’t stretch out so much when you wear them and that they were chafe proof. The socks are fine for a 5K, but I wore them for a longer race and started to develop blisters. Luckily the worst of the blisters were abated with some TLC.

Leave a Reply

