You’re Doing It All Wrong: How to Eat Your Post-Race Banana

img_7386

Eating Bananas Inelegantly Since the 1970s

Every once in a while (okay, more frequently than that), there’s always a “fun” column letting us know that something simple that we’ve been doing all our lives, we’ve been doing wrong this entire time.

I’m here to tell you that you, my dear readers, have been eating bananas all wrong.

WHAT!

Are we reviving the controversy over which side you should peel your banana: the stem side or the top side? Noooo!

This presupposes that the correct way to peel a banana is with your hands. How déclassé!

Anyone who is anyone knows that bananas must be eaten with a knife and fork. Don’t know how? Watch this $16,000 banana-eating lesson. (Click on the link, if I could embed this video, I would, but I don’t have a premium account. I’ve saving my money for this banana-eating lesson.) A friend showed me this video and I died laughing. Then I promptly called my mother to tell her that she ruined my life by not teaching me how to eat bananas elegantly. No wonder I’m not a part of the 1%.

How do you eat your banana? Elegantly with a knife and fork? Or inelegantly like moi? How do you peel your banana? I always peel it top down. 

I’d like to thank the Franklin Lakes Half Marathon for the post-race banana that made this post possible.

12 thoughts on “You’re Doing It All Wrong: How to Eat Your Post-Race Banana

  1. Ha ha ha… wow.
    I only eat a banana with utensils when it’s in something like my morning Müsli. And I peel from the top/stem. There’s a built in lever to open the banana, why would I make things harder for myself?

  2. I’ve come to accept, in this day and age, when we have a million underemployed writers trying desperately to get published on the internet, that I will always and forever be Doing Something Wrong.

    • Story of my life. This video brought back memories of when I dated a guy who was from that “type of family.” I spent several years being judged silently (and not so silently) on what I was doing wrong. Eventually I realized that just my very existence was wrong by his mother. So glad I’m out of that relationship.

Leave a Reply

