PPTC Picnic & Relay

IMG_6770Last Sunday was the Prospect Park Track Club’s annual summer picnic. It was a fun event with a team relay. Each team consisted of three people who were randomly chosen. Each person had to run a loop that was slightly under a mile and pass a “baton” (a plastic spoon) off to the next person.

Ben and I were on different teams. I was the middle runner on my team and Ben was the anchor on his. This was the first time I ran a relay in a long time. The last time was in elementary school? Jr High? It was fun and exciting anticipating when my teammate would arrive. As soon as she handed me the “baton” I ran off to chase down people who had a head start on me. When I was about three-quarters of the way through, I heard the roaring foot stomps of someone who was quickly gaining on me. I knew that person was going to pass me by soon and that there was NO WAY that I would be able to keep up. He quickly blew past me and I spent the next few  frantic minutes chasing him trying not to lose too much time. I handed the baton to my team’s anchor and my part was done. All I could do now was wait.

IMG_6773

Waiting for my leg

IMG_6774

Third Place Team

Some minutes later, the first team crossed the finish line. Then came in the second team and soon thereafter was the anchor to my team. Yay! We came in third.

After all the teams came in, it was food time! We munched on sandwiches, fruit, crudites, chips, and some freshly-baked chocolate cupcakes with Pinot Noir made by a PPTC teammate. Yum! We yakked about races, travel, and other things going on in our lives.

It was wonderful fun afternoon with the running club. Ben and I are so happy we joined.

IMG_6772

Ben goofing off with Bandit

By the way, if you’re admiring my lovely blue running skirt by Blyss Running, you should enter the giveaway that Simple Hydration is hosting. The details of the giveaway are on the Simple Hydration Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

