Marathon Musings Part 3

  • Training for a marathon changes your perspective on runs. I used to think 10 miles was a long run. Now when I see any mileage under 20, I think to myself, “Oh, thank goodness, it’s a shorter training run today.” Fifteen miles seem like a perfectly reasonable distance to do for a long run. A few months ago I would have keeled over at the thought of running longer than a half marathon.
  • I refuse to look at a scale and see how much I weigh. It’s important to me that I prepare my body to run well. If this means gaining some weight, then so be it. Plus I’m eating more in general (and there’s more bloating because of more food, specifically starchy food). I’m afraid that if I become too weight-conscious than I will focus on restricting calories, which isn’t good for me right now because I need more calories for all the additional running.
  • I still hate long slow runs.
  • I’m noticing the improvements in my fitness. I’m not necessarily faster, but I see improvements in endurance. When I do intervals, I don’t keel over after the 4th one the way I did when I first started.
  • I didn’t realize I was so picky about running shoes until I needed to be in them for several hours per week. Problems that aren’t noticeable for short speed work sessions suddenly flare up big time when you’re hoofing it for several hours. I used to think there wasn’t that much of a different among different brands of shoes. I now have very firm opinions about many of them.
  • My feet don’t swell after speed work. They do swell when I run more than 10 miles or more than 20 miles per week for several weeks consecutively. They swell even more when I run more than 15 miles or more than 25 miles per week for several weeks consecutively.
  • One of my goals in marathon training was to escape without losing a nail. I may make this goal. The closest I’ve gotten to losing a nail was killing 1/4 of a nail on second toe on my left foot. It’s firmly attached and the rest of it is fine. I bought new shoes (the other one was slightly too small after a couple of hours of running because of increased swelling).
  • I’m in a near constant state of thirst. I drink a lot of water and watered down juice.
  • I’ve been sleeping a lot. I almost always get 8 hours of sleep, but if I can get 10, that’s even better. Without marathon training, 10 hours of sleep means that I don’t need coffee to get through my day. I still need coffee.
  • Marathon training seemed a bit daunting at first, but I’m enjoying the challenge. I’m really glad that I waited a few years before deciding to do marathon training. I think being comfortable with racing and being uncomfortable in training took away quite a bit of anxiety that comes with tackling this type of challenge.
7 thoughts on “Marathon Musings Part 3

  1. I’m with you on so many of these! I’m beyond picky with my shoes, and it’s been months since I’ve squeezed my feet in to my “regular” sized everyday shoes – once my fall race is over I’m looking forward to my feet going back to their regular size. Oh, and I, too, am hoping to finish out this race year without any toenail casualties. 🙂

  2. Oh man, I’ve become SO specific about the shoes I wear for different distances and workouts. That’s bled over to my regular life now, too, and I won’t wear cheap-o heels or flip-flops. Now it’s all flight attendant pumps and sandals with arch support.

    Good luck on your journey to finish the race year without losing a toenail. If you can figure out how to do it, let me know.

    • Thanks. I’m not sure if this really works or if it’s just coincidence, but I spend more time airing my feet to let them have more oxygen and I don’t wear regular shoes with tight toe boxes anymore. I used to wear really beautiful high heels to work, but after a couple years I saw that my feet were starting to get deformed and I was suffering from feet and knee problems, so I stopped. Now with running my feet get deformed in a different way. Ha!

  3. I think your comments on weight are spot on and something that people really need to keep in mind! If you’re losing weight during peak marathon training EAT MORE!! Your body NEEDS the nutrients for repair when you’re constantly breaking it down, and if you’re losing weight it means your body isn’t getting enough. When “not enough” is only calories, that results in weight loss and that’s fine; but when “not enough” also means you’re not getting the protein you need to repair muscles and the vitamins and minerals essential for recharging after a punishing week of training, injuries become more and more likely!

Leave a Reply

