Week 8 of Run Less, Run Faster

Huh! Another week flew by in a hurry.

Wednesday – Key Run #1 Track Repeats (2 x 6×400 @1:42 with RI 90 secs and RI 2:30 in between sets)

I ran .25 mile intervals on the treadmill at 9.2 mph (1:38), except for the last interval in the second set, which I did a bit slower (1:40). Within a set, RLRF had the rest intervals at 90 secs and I actually managed to do that for all, except for one in the first set. In the second set, I stuck to 90s for the first half and then the rest intervals got a bit longer in the second half. I took a 7 min break in between sets. This is the closest I’ve ever come to doing what RLRF told me to do for a speed work out, so I was stoked.

Thursday – Cross-training

Sixty minutes of Vinyasa Flow at Yoga to the People. It’s been a while since I’ve practiced yoga. It felt good. I also did over 3 miles of walking all over San Francisco.

Friday – Key Run #3 Long Run (18 miles @9:08 pace)

I’m in San Francisco now to see some friends while work is still slow. I can’t say how nice it is to be able to do a run whenever I feel like doing it, rather waking up at insane o’clock to log in miles before it gets too hot. Although I wasn’t particularly looking forward to the long run, I was looking forward to running in Golden Gate Park. Golden Gate Park’s scenery (waterfalls, bison, rose garden, lakes, redwood grove, ocean, etc) beats Central Park’s scenery (trees, panther statue, lakes) any day. My legs felt heavy and tired, but I found that after a couple of miles, the feeling goes away. This time it didn’t. I knew the run wasn’t going well, but right from the beginning I was already eagerly anticipating the end. After 8 slow miles (10:18 pace) that were well over a minute a mile slower than what RLRF wanted me to do, I decided that I was better off stopping and finishing the other 10 miles later in the day. I knew that if I tried to continue on, the pace was going to drop off even more and I didn’t think I was doing anything good by running at a 13:00+ pace.

I took a shower and then got a 90 min Thai massage to loosen my muscles. If you’re a fan of painful massages, I highly recommend getting a Thai massage. One of the funniest Yelp reviews I’ve ever read came from Nathan Y. who wrote, “This is a great place for those into exotic role-playing. I was a captured American spy, and he was my soviet-era [sic] KGB interrogator. . . . Like an experienced torturer who needs to keep his subject alive, he was able to inflict an excruciating amount of pain without causing any permanent physical damage.” This is an incredibly perfect description of a proper Thai massage.

In the evening I really didn’t want to run, but I put on my big girl pants shorts and went back to Golden Gate Park to finish the last ten miles. The massage did wonders because I ran much faster (9:33 pace). I would have liked to have done the 18-miler in a single session, but sometimes you got to do what you got to do in order to get it done.

In addition, I did over 3 miles of walking.

Saturday – Cross-training

I feel kinda silly putting down walking as cross-training, but I did over 3 miles of walking. So much walking this week!

A 5K with a View

A 5K with a View

Sunday – Key Run #2 Tempo Run (2 miles easy, 3 miles @7:45, 1 mile easy)

You know the story. I skipped the easy miles and only did the tempo. I had thought about doing the easy miles separately later, but I did a lot of walking this past week (not that it’s the same thing). I found a 5K that was hosted by Dolphin South End Runners, a local running club in SF. It was a terrific low-key cheap 5K (only $5) with the best post-race food for a 5K that I’ve ever had (oranges, watermelon, peanut butter-filled pretzels, brownies, popcorn, and glazed donuts) and an insanely gorgeous view of the Golden Gate Bridge. I ran a stupid positive split and ended up finishing in 24:15 (7:49 pace). Live and learn.

Did more walking (3+ miles).

It’s a pretty okay week in terms of training. I can’t believe that I’m halfway done already.

11 thoughts on “Week 8 of Run Less, Run Faster

  1. You had me at torture. I’ve been DYING to try a Thai massage! I actually have a friend who practices. I’ve been dodging him for months! Well done! Smart to split that long run up. And in Golden Gate Park?! Awesome!

  2. Oh yes a painful massage is the best. I have done the relaxing massage and left feeling the same way. I laughed at your comment about Golden Gate vs. Central Park. CP’s scenery isn’t that awesome and I always hear about people who are desperate to run it. I wait to hear what they think of all the hills 😉 I really need to get out west. This post made me envious!

  3. I’ve never had a massage, but I’m so darn ticklish that I would think it would need to hurt in order for me to stop laughing.

    • I’m super ticklish too. I can’t survive a pat down without collapsing into giggles. Except for the first time I got a massage (and I think that was more because I was nervous), it’s never been ticklish. The firm touch feels really good and not at all tickly.

Leave a Reply

