Week 7 of Run Less, Run Faster

Despite the fact that I’m less busy in the summer than I am during the rest of the year, I don’t seem to have as much time for blogging. Every week I catch myself thinking, “What! Already another weekly recap of my training needs to go up!” I think it’s because during the summer, I’m comfortably busy but not pushing myself hard or becoming brain dead, so I don’t need blogging time to zone out. During the rest of the year, I’m very busy and pushing myself, so every few hours I need a break, which is when I compose a post.

So from the shores of a beautiful lake in New Hampshire, I’m here. But I’d rather be in the lake right now.

Monday & Wednesday – Key Run #1 Track Repeats (6×800 @3:28 with RI 90 secs)

I split this workout over two days, more by accident than by design. I did a slow half mile warm up on a treadmill. I ran a half mile in 3:20 (9.0 mph) for the first two intervals. I was on my way to completing the third, which felt very hard, so I slowed down a little (8.8 – 8.9 mph). In the last stretch, I suddenly thought I was going to throw up so I stopped (.46 mile @3:22).

Because of weekend travel plans, I thought about doing my long run on Wednesday. When I woke up at 5 pm, it was already fast approaching 80 degrees. I knew by the time I got out there and was in the middle of the long run, it would be 90 degrees. I groaned mentally. I didn’t want to run. I thought about Helly on the Run and PirateBobcat who run in 100 degree with 120% humidity day in, day out. “If they can do it, you can do it,” I muttered to myself. I turned on my phone and did a quick search to see where I could do a long run in Cape Elizabeth. Boom. Found a trail. I told my husband it was too hot to run and that I was doing my long run while on vacation. Then I turned over and fell asleep with AC on full blast.

Later in the early evening, I went to the gym to finish the other 3×800 intervals. I actually did the all three intervals. The first two were completed in 3:20 (9.0 mph) and the last one in 3:22 (8.9 mph). I gave myself longer rest breaks (2.5 mins and 3 mins) because it was the only way that I would complete it.

At Beach to Beacon 10K

At Beach to Beacon 10K

Saturday – Key Run #2 Tempo Run (1 mile easy, 6 miles @8:15 pace, 1 mile easy)

I signed up for Beach to Beacon 10K this past spring because it’s a bucket list race for me. I’ve wanted to do it for a while. This race came at a good time because I needed to do a 6 mile tempo run. I love using races as training runs be because I run better in races.

As usual, no warm up nor cool down. This year’s temperature was better than last year’s, but it was still a warm race. The course is a point-to-point course starting from Crescent Beach State Park to the iconic Portland Head Lights (lighhouse) over countless rolling hills. It’s not an easy course. I figured I was good if I finished between 51-52 minutes. I did really well and ran in a 8:08 pace and my time was 50:39. It was a fantastic race with great crowd support and post-race atmosphere. Loved it and would definitely recommend to anyone.

Running on Back Cove Trail

Running on Back Cove Trail

Sunday – Key Run #3 Long Run (13 miles @8:53 pace)

I usually have at least one rest day before a long run. Because I didn’t do it on Wednesday, I did it on Sunday after a hard tempo run, taking a page out of Hansons’ training method of running on tired legs. I found Back Cove Trail by googling for trails in Cape Elizabeth. It’s a beautiful 3.5 route around a cove and it connects to other trails. There are water fountains and port-o-potties along the route. The view of downtown Portland is really nice. When the tide is in, the area is beautiful. When the tide is out, it’s still nice, but you have views of marsh and mud flats instead. I ran a little more than two laps of Back Cove Trail and added on the Eastern Promenade Trail along the peninsula as and out-and-back to get 13 miles. My legs felt heavy and it took a couple miles to loosen up.

I did this run as a fasted run because I read about doing a few long runs as fasted runs in order to teach the body to burn fat for fuel, instead of being wholly dependent on glycogen. I usually do runs under 10 miles as fasted runs, so it wasn’t too different or difficult to do this as a fasted run. I felt fine, but I was slowing down for the last mile. I didn’t bonk, but if I had to do a few more miles, I would have definitely hit the wall then. I completed the run in 2:00:49 (9:18 pace).

Another pretty solid training week.

4 thoughts on “Week 7 of Run Less, Run Faster

  1. What a great week! Great race at Beach to Beacon too! It definitely takes a while to acclimate to the heat/humidity but you do actually get used to it. When I check back at Garmin Connect and see 104 or 106 I’m always like, “Did I just seriously run in that??” LOL.

  2. Congrats on a great week of training! Do you do any strength training or cross training on your non running days? Last year I sort of focused on the same thing you are- running less but making the runs very purposeful.

    • Thanks, Megan. I should do cross-training but I don’t. Aside from some weightlifting I did a few weeks ago, I haven’t done anything else other than running. Each week I say I’ll do some more cross-training, but it doesn’t happen. 😦

Leave a Reply

