Running Away to Join the Circus

aerial silksI joined a circus yesterday!

Not really, but I took an aerial silk class for the first time in two years. And it was fun!!!!!

Aerial silk is an aerial acrobatics using special fabric, called silk or tissu that look like long ribbons suspended from the ceiling. I first heard about this a few years ago and got really excited to try it. After waiting a year for a friend to find time to do this with me, I finally had enough waiting and signed up for a class on my own. In minutes I was hooked. I even got my baby sister to take a few classes with me. I took classes on and off for a number of months and then I stopped because of a lack of time. I meant to go back, but you know how good intentions turns out. . .

I made a New Year’s resolution to take lessons once a week. I missed the first half of the year, but if I go twice a week for the second half, that makes up for it. Right?

In the last couple of years, several circus schools have opened up. A couple years ago, there were only a few places. I had been going to a place in Brooklyn, but now that I live in Hoboken, it was a bit too far. I found Aerial Arts NYC, which is located in Midtown East. A single one-hour class is $35, but if you buy a series of classes, the price drops a little.

I had a lot of fun in my first class back. My skills are a bit rusty, but I hope that with a few more classes they’ll come back to me. It’s amazing how difficult the simplest looking skill is. My heart was pounding and I worked up quite a sweat. I definitely will be continuing with this.

My back and shoulder muscles were a bit sore of not being used in a long while. I had Ben rub Dragon Ice, a pain relief cream with Menthol (it’s like Icy Hot or Ben Gay). I’m so addicted to the tingly feeling that it gives me when I have really sore muscles. The sorer you are, the more the cream tingles and hurts. I love it!

My running has more or less fallen to the way side. Sad. I have bronchitis and it’s not going away. Whenever I see a doctor, she/he asks me if I’m a smoker or a former smoker. I vehemently deny it. And they always look at me skeptically because my lungs are *that* bad. Unless I do a very slow long run or a very short fast interval, I can’t run. If I exert myself, my bronchial tubes seize up and I can’t breathe. No breathing = no running. With the fast intervals, I stop before my tubes seize up, but the repeated effort leaves me gasping for air and the bronchitis doesn’t allow me to recover all that quickly. I can’t wait to get over this.

I have a 5K in upstate NY tomorrow, but I’m treating it as a fun run. The course and the scenery will be beautiful. Ben and I are treating this whole thing as a weekend getaway; we’ll be staying at my cousin’s guest house for the weekend. It’ll be nice to get out of town for a couple of days.

Who wants to run away to join a circus with me?

7 thoughts on “Running Away to Join the Circus

  1. Have a great fun run tomorrow and wow, I wanna take cool lessons like that!! I love it!! As a former gymnast, I used to take adult gymnastics classes (a few years ago)!! I miss it!! I love flippin’ around!! XOXO!!

Leave a Reply

