Winning the Cherry Blossom 10-Mile Run Lottery

I sleepily woke up this morning at 7 am. Ben noticed my rustling around and he thoughtfully said, “I think we got in the lottery for the Cherry Blossom 10-miler.”

“What do you mean?” I groggily asked.

“I got an email this morning saying that the credit card has been charged. Why would they send us an email that the credit card was charged and then send us an email tomorrow saying that we didn’t get picked and our cards won’t get charged?”

I wiped sleep away from my eyes and grabbed my IPhone to check my email. Sure enough, there was an email from MarathonGuide.com stating that my card had been charged. I squealed with delight.

Then the next following hours I kept reading tweets after tweets of runner joyfully announcing that they got picked by the lottery. Finally just after 1 pm, I got my confirmation email

Cherry Blossom10I’m so excited. I wanted to do this race for over a year now and I can’t believe that I actually made it through the lottery on my first try. When Ben and I first got together, we traveled down to Washington DC to spectate the Cherry Blossom 10-Miler. So this race has some sentimental value for us. I had a sneaking suspicion that going into the lottery this year would work for me because honestly I really shouldn’t be doing this race in the spring. It’ll be a very busy time of year for me work-wise and I should be at home working. Consequently because of Murphy’s law, I knew we would get it.

The news of getting in came in a day earlier than expected. The website said that the news of our acceptance or rejection would come out on Tuesday. It was very sneaky and clever of them to say Tuesday, but come out with the news on Monday. This way they avoided anxious runners constantly checking and refreshing the page, which would lead to the site crashing. Underpromising and overdelivering. I like it.

8 thoughts on “Winning the Cherry Blossom 10-Mile Run Lottery

    • Thanks! I’m filled with anticipation already. Part of the excitement is seeing who else will be there. I like that I’ll be reading other bloggers’ recaps and seeing what their experiences were like.

  1. Congratulations! This is on my to-do list, but not this year. I love DC, however it’s too big of a race so close to Boston. I hope Mother Nature cooperates this year so those beautiful cherry blossoms will be in full bloom during the race! Enjoy!

    • Thanks. When we were in DC a couple years ago, it was soooo cold and most of the blossoms were gone. I’m crossing my fingers for slightly warmer (but not too warm) weather and tons of gorgeous blooms.

  2. Congrats! I ran it in 2012. GORGEOUS course, but it was the most crowded race I’ve ever done. Get there early to get a spot in the front of your corral and you should be OK. I was in the back of mine and was never able to run faster than a 10 min mile because of the crowding. I was still trying to weave around people at mile 10. It was literally a traffic jam. But I’ve heard from people that the front of the corral is better and maybe they’ve made more/smaller corrals since then!? Either way, it’s a fun race if you take in the course and the blossoms.

    • I’m a bit worried about crowding because I want to use this race as a steady state training run for a spring half. The only good thing about a crowded start is that it prevents me from starting too fast. I’m excited about this race. We love DC.

Leave a Reply

