A Naked Waterfront Run in Reykjavik, Iceland

Iceland 082Hæ from Reykjavik, Iceland!

I’ve been having a marvelous time here, aside from losing my IPhone on the first day. It’s been two days of adventures and great experiences. I can’t wait to document them, but those entries will take a while. So for now, just a quick post on a run I did earlier this evening.

Reykjavik has some wonderful interesting possibilities for running. I noticed some wonderful looking paths in parks, along rivers, and of course, the waterfront. We happened to be staying near the southern side of the city, a few blocks away from a waterfront. There’s another long stretch of waterfront along the northern side of the city and that’s where the famous Sun Voyager sculpture is. I was eager to run out some rust from my legs and see a less touristy and more of an every day life side of Reykjavik. I would have loved to used Runtastic to keep track of where I ran, the distance, time, and pace. Alas, no smart phone meant no app. And I don’t own a Garmin. So this meant that I was running naked. I kept noticed when I left and came back on the kitchen clock and tried to use GMap pedometer to try to estimate the distance. I figure I ran between 3.5 and 4 miles in about 32 minutes.

Iceland 085I adored running along the waterfront here. There’s just a long long stretch of empty pathway exclusive to pedestrians and cyclists. The cool crisp ocean air and overcast skies provided a welcome contrast to the hot and humid runs that I endured in the last month. I ran briskly.

I ran along the water the entire time. Sometimes there was a somewhat large swath of grass in between me and the ocean and at other times, I was much closer with only a sea wall separating me from the water. It’s a flat path with changing scenery. I ran past a soccer pitch, a small domestic airport, and quite number of fancy houses with long long lawns that stretch pretty much straight into the ocean.

I really enjoyed running here and I’m tempted to repeat a run here before I leave.

4 thoughts on “A Naked Waterfront Run in Reykjavik, Iceland

  1. Hah! When I read your title I was all like: “What? They have a naked run in Reykjavík that I don’t know about” 🙂 Maybe someone should start that, would go marvelously with the tweed bike race and the costume sea swimming meet 🙂

    • Hahaha. Yes, naked running just refers to running without a watch. If you go to San Francisco’s race called Bay to Breakers, you’ll see quite a few naked people running there.

Leave a Reply

