The Best-Laid Training Plans of Runners and Coaches

often go awry . . .

“Running After Nemo” was the other title that I was considering to name this post.

Ben’s big running goal for the year is a sub-3 hr marathon in the fall. My goal is a sub-1:50 half marathon goal for the spring. A month ago we started looking for training plans for each of our goals. Ben found one that he liked and he suggested that I take a look at the Runner’s World training plans.

I glanced at them. In horror.

“There’s too much running,” I protested.

Ben groaned, “At some point, honey, you’re going to need to run more miles.”

You see, I’m not much of a runner. I love lifting heavy. I try to lift 3xs/week and run once a week. Not exactly what a serious runner does.

“How about running only twice a week then?” I tried to bargain. Ben sighed and said that I could probably cut the short easy runs.

I tried to follow the Runner’s World plan and ran the 4 miles on Tuesday. On Thursday work was crazy and I didn’t get out until 1:30 am. So there was no running that day. Snowstorm Nemo arrived on Friday. Ben and I braved the storm and we drove out to deep Jersey to go to a wedding. On Saturday morning we were greeted with big piles of white snow everywhere.

I thought that by Sunday there would have been enough time for the sidewalks to be cleared in Hoboken. Ben and I went out for a 6-mile run and we had to abort before we even went one mile. There was too slush and ice on the sidewalk, which made it too dangerous. So instead, we had lunch and came back home.

In the evening I decided to go to the gym and do a little speedwork instead. I ran a half mile at a 10 min pace and then ran 1.5 miles at a 8 min pace. The run went quite well. It felt hard, but under control. I felt a tiny little twitch of a side stitch, but nothing I couldn’t handle. I thought I could have ran longer. All in all, a good start (for me) and I think I’ll be back in sub-25 5K shape by the end of Feb.

Leave a Reply

