Recipe: Sausage, Kale, & Bean Soup With Vegetables and Beans

20121017-163000.jpg

Sausage & Kale Soup

Brrrr! It’s getting cold outside.Nothing makes me look forward to a hot comforting meal more than when I trudge home after a long day at work while fighting to not succumb to the chill in the air and the icy bite of the wind. I know it’s only fall, and not nearly all that cold, but I’m a Californian girl. The fall weather *is* what I called winter while growing up in the more temperate climes.Cold down to the bone, all I want is a big bowl of hot soup.

Not just any soup, but soup hearty enough to be a meal on its own. Growing up in a Korean household meant that soup was often a part of dinner (even in the summer) and frequently we had soup (with rice) alone.

I can’t remember which blog I was reading when I saw a beautiful picture of sausage, kale, and potato soup. It looked delicious and kale is quite cheap being that it’s in season now. I googled for a few different recipes and all looked quite simple to throw together: some chicken stock, sausage, kale, and potatoes. As I planned out what I was going to do, I decided to add a few more vegetables and aromatics to increase the flavor and some bean for more protein. Et voila, this sausage, kale, and bean soup with vegetables came to be. It was the easiest thing to make; it took a half hour to assemble and you can easily make it simpler or add more vegetables. Honestly except for the kale, which I had to go out and buy, I used the vegetables that I happened to have in the house. Use more. Use less. Use other vegetables. It’s very versatile.

Ingredients

  • 2 quarts of chicken stock
  • 2 large potatoes
  • 6 carrots
  • 2 small onions
  • 1/2 lb of kale
  • 1 package of spicy Italian sausage
  • 1 can of small white beans
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • Dried oregano
  • Dried thyme
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Makes approximately 8 large servings

Instructions

  1. Pour the chicken stock into a large stock pot and set to boil. I used low-sodium because I find the regular too salty. I like to control how much salt I put in.
  2. Peel and roughly chop potatoes and carrots. I like my food to be rustic, so I prefer larger pieces. Also, I can dump them into the boiling stock and ignore them, while I do other things. Larger the pieces, the longer they take to cook = more time to take care of the other steps. You may need to lower the heat at some point so you don’t cook the potatoes and carrots into mush.
  3. Crumble the sausage out of its casing. Fry them over medium heat. I like spicy Italian sausage because I like the additional spices. Use whatever sausage you like.
  4. Mince 3 cloves of garlic. Add them to the sausage.
  5. Dice onions. Add them to sausage.
  6. When the sausage is mostly cooked, turn off heat. Add the sausage, onions, and garlic to the stock pot.
  7. Open the can of beans. Remove the water and rinse the beans. Dump the beans into the stock pot.
  8. Rinse kale. Remove the spine from the kale leaves. The spine is too tough and inedible. Roughly tear the leaves into the stock pot.
  9. Mince the rest of the garlic. Dump into the stock pot.
  10. Liberally sprinkle oregano and thyme into the soup.
  11. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  12. Soup is done when the kale is wilted down and potatoes and carrots are thoroughly cooked.
Leave a Reply

