Recipe: Siracha Roasted Broccoli

20121012-153721.jpg Lately I’ve been enamored with this quick and easy side dish – Siracha Roasted Broccoli. I love roasted vegetables because of the sweetness you get from the caramelization and the crispness of roasting. Plus this recipe can be thrown together at the last minute with very little thought and preparation.

Like all good Koreans, I don’t be providing any measurements. If you ever wondered why there aren’t that many Korean cookbooks, this is exactly the reason why. Koreans never measure anything. If you ever try to get a recipe from a Korean, it’s a frustrating endeavor. Not because they don’t want to give you the recipe, but the instructions will be annoyingly vague, like “a pinch of salt,” “some garlic,” “add just enough soy sauce,” or “add to taste.” If you press for more exact details, they’ll lapse into “well, it depends,” or “How should I know? You just add enough until it’s right.” But this recipe is so easy and foolproof that you don’t need any exact measurements.

Siracha Roasted Broccoli

Ingredients

  1. One stalk of broccoli
  2. Olive oil
  3. Salt
  4. Pepper
  5. Siracha

Makes enough for a side dish for two. Or if you’re a glutton like me, you’ll eat the whole thing yourself for lunch.

Step 1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Step 2: Line baking sheet with aluminum foil.

20121012-153732.jpg

Step 3: Chop up broccoli into little florets. I used a pretty large broccoli stalk.

20121012-153738.jpg

20121012-154146.jpg

Step 4: You’re left with the stalk. I actually happen to like the stalk, so I add it to my dish.

Slice them thinly because they take longer to cook than the florets.

20121012-154157.jpg

Step 5. Drizzle olive oil. Add salt and pepper to taste. Finally drizzle Siracha.

I love my food spicy, so I added quite a bit of Siracha. You should drizzle yours “to taste.” I’m being Korean there.

Step 6: Pop in the oven for 10 to 15 mins depending on how much broccoli you have and how roasted you like your vegetables. I like mine fairly well-roasted, so I leave them in for 15 mins or slightly longer.

Leave a Reply

