A Fantastic Long Fall Run

After the aborted long run attempt last Wednesday, I wanted to do another long run before next week’s Newport Liberty Half Marathon. Today was a gorgeous day for running. It was a beautiful mild fall morning with hints of crispness in the air. It’s exactly the type of weather that I love to run in. I asked Ben to go on a relaxed long run. I wanted to run 10 miles, but I didn’t want to pressure myself by running at race pace. The original idea was that we would run at a 9:30 pace.

Because I was feeling so good and the weather was just so perfect, we leaped out and handily ran 10.5 miles at a 9:16 pace (total time 1:37:26). We ran from Hoboken, through Newport and into Liberty State Park. Ben kept asking if the pace was all right because I have a habit of going out too fast and burning myself out, but a slower pace felt annoying. The 9:16 felt like a good effort — not too hard, but not too easy. Going fast enough that miles slipped by like beads falling off a broken necklace, but I wasn’t in pain and gasping for air. As we were running, Ben gave me a running commentary (haha, pun intended) about the various landmarks along the course. Occasionally I felt I had enough energy and breath to have a short conversation with him (I don’t care to talk while running usually even when going at a slow pace). At Mile 5, I began fueling myself with Shot Bloks. I took a cube about every 3/4 of a mile. It gave me something to look forward to while running.

Elysian Cafe

After our run, we went to brunch at Elysian Cafe, a cute French bistro, in Hoboken. We sat outside on the patio. I wanted to eat here because of the patio. Considering that winter will be coming in a few months, there aren’t many more weekends that we can sit outside to enjoy our meals. Plus the myriad of white blooms and tree growing in the middle of the patio made Elysian Cafe seem like a Parisian getaway.

Ben ordered steak and eggs with Lyonnaise potatoes and I had the cinnamon-Amaretto French toast with sausage. We were famished and quickly devoured our food. I was really happy with my French toast – thick fluffy slices of brioche bread that was soaked in Amaretto and liberally spiced with cinnamon. We took quick glances that other people’s food as they were being delivered. The other brunch choices also looked delicious. I can definitely recommend coming here for brunch if you’re in Hoboken.
20120916-165417.jpg

20120916-165427.jpg

2 thoughts on “A Fantastic Long Fall Run

Leave a Reply

