Running along Astoria’s Waterfront

20120826-212113.jpg

Waterfront in Astoria

There’s no place like home. As fun as Cape Cod was, I’m happy to be back home and going back to my usual routine. A part of that routine is running along Astoria’s waterfront. I wanted to do another 2-mile hard training run at a 8-min pace. I asked Ben to pace me because I clearly start off too fast in the beginning. We ran my usual route from my home, up to 20th Ave, and then down along the waterfront. I really love the view of the Manhattan skyline as I’m running along the East River. As usual, Ben did a great job of pacing me. The first mile split was 8:03 and the second mile split was 7:56. I set a new 2-mile PR with 15:59. The fun of being a newbie runner is that I set all kinds of PR regularly. Before our run, I talked to Ben about running a little longer if I didn’t get a severe side stitch. At the end of the first mile, I had very mild and very ignorable side cramps. It hurt a lot more by 1.5 miles and at about 1.7, the side stitch was horrible. It felt like a knife was digging deeper and twisting harder between my ribs with each step. I couldn’t relieve it, so I just bore the pain until it was the end of two miles.

I texted a friend who lives down the street from me in Astoria if she wanted to get together. She wanted to do a run and I didn’t see a reason why I shouldn’t do a casual social run. We met up in the evening and did a quick 3.2 mile loop to Astoria Park and again the waterfront. Because we were running slowly, I could easily carry a conversation with her and we got caught up in each other’s lives. It took us about 36 mins. I say 36 mins because even though I had RunKeeper keep tabs, the total time isn’t very accurate as we stopped frequently for red lights (that were often quite long) and for the above photo that I snapped. It was quite fun running with her and I realized that I need to make sure that I make more time to spend with my friends.

Leave a Reply

